Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.
01-24-08 Minutes
January 24, 2008
            The Board of Finance held a special meeting on this date at the Police Department meeting room.  Members present were Glenn Frishman, Chairman; Andrew Rines, Secretary; John O’Brien; Dudley Wheeler; Bryan Bentz.  Also present Maryanna Stevens, Director of Finance, George Sylvestre, Director of Administrative Services and First Selectman Ed Haberek.  Kevin Burns was absent.
Mr. Frishman called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.
Request for Transfer of Funds
Mr. Sylvestre had prepared a presentation to ‘continue’ the conversation regarding the Community Development “Special Projects”.  He started with the objectives: Define the Issues, Analyze the Causes and Identify the Solutions, Short and Long Term.   He added that there are two types of projects, Conventional and Special.  The main issue being that the proliferation of successful grant applications and projects over the past ten+ years has stretched the capacity of the Town to the breaking point.  He added that the Town lacks internal policies/procedures/protocols to control the problem.  Mr. Sylvestre covered briefly the risks involved with the Town’s incapacity to successfully satisfy grant requirements.  He also outlined the initiatives taken to respond to these risks, i.e. Project Administrator role established, PT clerical support.  With the resignation of the Planning Director in August 2007, the crisis was once again present. The passage of Time, people, time value of money, changing Community/Organizational priorities as well as other factors creates a critical situation. 

Mr. Rines asked Mr. Sylvestre if he was looking to enhance the help or maintain the current staff.  The reply was that the current staff should be able to set the precedents, which may not be long term.
First Selectman Haberek added that the presentation was just a snapshot of the actual situation.  Current projects have been moving along, and he guaranteed that frivolous projects would not be added.  The “Special Projects Team” consisting of Joe Bragaw, Maryanna Stevens, Bill Haase and himself have worked on completing current projects and establishing a long term plan.  There are currently 13 projects, two of which are the Mystic and Pawcatuck Streetscape projects. 
Members main concerns were that they wanted a detailed job description for the Project Management Professional to better determine what the funding was covering.  Also what the tasks were specific to each project.  The request for Transfer was tabled to the February 6, 2008 regular meeting. 
There being no further business to come before the Board, Mr. Rines made a motion to adjourn.  Mr. Bentz seconded the motion and the meeting was unanimously adjourned at 8:25 p.m.
                                                                        Respectfully submitted,
                                                                        Andrew W. Rines
lp                                                                     Secretary